Desiree Nathanson – From Sideline Distraction To Fitness Attraction!

Alumni Cheerleaders Member, Amy Campbell will be submitting interviews from former Pro Cheerleaders and Dancers who are now competing in Fitness competitions.  These ladies have transitioned from “Sideline Distractions” to “Fitness Attractions“!! Amy is a former Atlanta Falcons and Cincinnati Bengals Cheerleader.  She was recently won the title of Ms. Fitness Universe Classic 2009 at the Fitness Universe Pageant held in Miami, Florida.

Name: Desiree Nathanson

Location: Atlanta, GA

What professional dance/cheer team were you a member? Atlanta Hawks A-Town Dancers

How many years/seasons were you a member? 6 years, 3 as a captain

When did you begin competing in Fitness?  Why? I began competing in 2006. My roommate Sandra, a former Atlanta Falcons cheerleader and current Atlanta Dream dancer, was competing at the time. I went to one of her shows and loved it! I was too scared to try fitness so I decided to compete in figure.  She helped me with finding a bikini, shoes, theme wear, etc. Last year, 2008, as I was winding down my final season with Hawks, I decided I was ready to try my hand at fitness since I would need to fill my performance void. Sandra taught me a few strength moves and once I finally figured out how to do those I started in on my routine.  I found fitness to be the perfect fit for me.

How many years have you been competing in Fitness?  I began competing in 2006 with figure and switched over to bikini that year.  I started fitness in June 2008. Since then I have done 3 fitness shows with 1 coming up in September.

How is competing similar to your experience as a dancer/cheerleader?  How is it different?  The similarities also seem to be the differences. Both experiences have been very team oriented for me.  I have my home team, which includes my boyfriend, parents, friends, coach, makeup artist, hair stylist, and the people who support me during my training and keep me on track. I also have the team atmosphere backstage at a show, much like the dressing room at games.  All the other competitors at these shows know how hard the other women have worked to get to that spot so there is a very positive atmosphere backstage.  Much like a team, you can find competitors pinning other women’s costumes, lending out hairspray and tanner and giving each other pep talks.

Of course, being able to perform is a similarity in both cases.  However, with fitness I am able to express myself through my music selection, theme, costume and choreography.

A major difference is that on a team you generally have 10 or more women on the court next to you so if you blank out or miss a step you have someone to look at for the next move.  With fitness you’re on your own.  While it’s easier to freestyle when you’re solo it’s still scary stepping out on that stage for the first time by yourself.

How do you think your experience as a professional dancer/cheerleader prepared you to be a Fitness competitor?  I don’t get nervous until right before I go out on stage.  After years of rush, rush, perform, rush, rush, perform I have been conditioned to not waste my energy getting nervous until performance time.  It makes for a more pleasant backstage experience.

I know exactly what music I like to dance to, what I like to wear when I perform and what choreography I am most comfortable doing.

And of course, performing in an arena that holds 19,000 makes a theater much less nerve wracking.

What is your favorite Fitness trick/move?  I would have to say a plank. While simple for many people, that move was very difficult for me to figure out so I’m proud of myself for that one.

While it’s more of a dance move I love doing a double pirouette into a straddle.  It appears difficult to onlookers and I have to admit I feel kind of cool doing it. Maybe it’s because that’s the flexibility I have managed to retain!

How did you decide on the theme for your Fitness routine?  After my second fitness competition I asked one of the judges for some feedback.  She said that I did not appear to be comfortable performing my routine, my tricks were not strong enough but she could tell that I was a good dancer. She said to play up my dancing.  I took that advice and ran with it.  I decided to go with the danciest dance theme of all time, Flashdance. I’m a maniac!

What one tip would you give pro dancers/cheerleaders who are thinking about competing in Fitness? Don’t be scared.  If the tiniest part of you wants to try, go for it!  The worst that can happen is that you get in better shape and make some new friends (cheesy, I know, but true!)

Also don’t try to be something you’re not.  If you’re a tumbler, tumble.  If you’re a hip hopper, hip hop.  If you’re a technical dancer, technique it out.  If you’re a baton twirler, twirl.  Play up your strengths.

And it doesn’t hurt to practice applying your competition tan before the actual show…no one likes a show day tanning disaster.  Trust me.

FUP09_Bikini

Photo by Gordon J Smith

FUP09_Split_Plank

Photo by Gordon J Smith

942680836108_0_ALB

Leave a comment